TurnBuckle: I.O.C Board Dropping Wrestling

120404100647-henry-cejudo-story-body

This has nothing to do with the WWE but it has to do with wrestling. Growing up I wrestled. I starting in the third grade and I currently wrestle in a tournament once a year. That is my reasoning for this rant.

After a review of all the current Olympic events the I.O.C (International Olympic Committee) board has dropped wrestling from the Olympic program for the 2020 games.

This is a sport that has history with the Olympics. With it being one of the originals. It dates all the way back to the 1896 games in Athens.

In case you aren’t familiar with it, Olympic wrestling combines the styles of freestyle and Greco-Roman wrestling.

The board voted to drop the sport after taking a look at the TV ratings, ticket sales, anti-doping policy and the global participation and popularity of the sport.  Well, maybe if they aired it while most people AREN”T at work and when they are able to watch it the ratings might go up!!!!

A spokesman from the I.O.S Mark Adams stated…

“This is a process of renewing and renovating the program for the Olympics.”  “In the view if the executive board, this was the best program for the Olympic Games in 2020. It’s not a case of what’s wrong with wrestling, it is what’s right with the 25 core sports.”

Wow. Come on man, that was the worst sugar-coating of something I have ever heard!!!

My thoughts on this whole situation are kind of obvious. I am totally against it. It’s almost like taking history away from the Olympics. I mean, what the hell kind of ratings are badminton or ping-pong getting. And it is clearly dominated by one country. I’m going to be honest here the only time I enjoyed watching ping-pong was when Tom Hanks played it in Forest Gump.

Badminton?! Hell lets face it, the more bud-lights I have I get better at playing it in the backyard it’s that easy. I don’t consider either a true sport.

That’s my take on it. To read a little more in-depth about the topic check out the article on ESPN.com.

Leave a Reply

