Countdown to the 2013 NFL Draft: Dion Jordan

If you know me, you know how I felt about Jason Pierre-Paul when he was an NFL prospect.  I had a total man crush on him.  Anyone who is as big as JPP and can do 13 backflips is someone I want on my team.  Someone else I am starting to get a man crush on is Dion Jordan, DE/OLB from Oregon.  It’s a little corny when the mock draft bloggers start linking college players with their former coaches that just left for the NFL a la Taylor Mays/Pete Carroll.  This however is something I can truly see the Eagles when it is their turn to pick at #4 overall.Dion Jordan

Please raise your hand if you want a guy on your team similar to Jason Pierre-Paul.  Dion Jordan measured in at 6’6″ 248 lbs and scouts believe he can put on about 15 lbs of muscle WITHOUT sacrificing speed or explosion.  This guy ran a 4.6 40 yard dash!  So basically these scouts/experts are saying that Dion Jordan could run at that same speed in a 263 lb frame?! Are you kidding me?

There are a couple reasons why I think this pick might make sense.  It looks like the Eagles are switching to a hybrid 3-4 defense and I get the sense that Chip Kelly is a big believer in being diverse.  With Dion Jordan he can create amazing pressure off the end and was even athletic enough to cover WR’s in college which might translate into him being able to cover the freakish TEs this league is starting to uncover.  Trent Cole also turns 31 during the season and is starting to lose his explosiveness.  I’m not even sure how well he fits into a 3-4 scheme.  He certainly can’t drop into coverage as the Eagles had tried that several times in the past.

I’m not sure how I feel about Geno Smith or any other offensive lineman not named Luke Joeckle at the 4th overall pick.  I need to watch more tape and research them a bit more.   When I wrote this post the DBs hadn’t gone through their drills so I’m anxious to see what DeMarcus Millner can do, but someone I have no problem with the Eagles taking with the #4 pick overall is Jordan and if they step to the podium and announce his name as the pick, I’ll applaud the decision.

Fantasy Perspective:

If you are in an IDP league that rewards heavily for sacks and turnovers, Jordan will be someone you will want to get onto your fantasy team regardless of the defense he plays in.  He will be similar in production to JPP in a 4-3 defense and Aldon Smith in a 3-4 scheme.  His rookie year may not get to the double-digit sacks that are required of #1 DE/OLB’s in fantasy, but year two will see him with 15 sacks and 4 forced turnovers.  Draft him anywhere from the 2oth-30th pick overall and stash him on your practice squad if you have one.  Bottomline, every NFL GM or Fantasy GM needs to make this guy a part of their team.

Follow me on Twitter @TheFrankCap

Some guys trying to be athletes

One response

  1. Howdy! This article could not be written much better! Looking through this post reminds me of my
    previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this.
    I am going to forward this post to him. Pretty sure he’ll have a great read.
    Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

