NFL Dynasty Mock Draft 1.0: Secound Round

NFL DRAFT

Last week I posted the first round picks of a mock draft I had recently completed and today I will go over the second round picks from that same draft.  Feel free to go over the picks from the first round linked here.  Going into the second round there were a couple of players I wrote down that were still available that I felt would provide good value for second round picks.  Jonathan Franklin, Andre Ellington and Joseph Randle, just to name a few.

Round 2

11. Jonathan Franklin, RB, UCLA

Welp.  Cross him off my list.  I think where Franklin goes in the NFL will change his stock market the most of any of the RBs.  He could easily bump up into the first round of most dynasty drafts if he goes to a team who will get him the ball in space, like Indianapolis or Atlanta.  I think the 11 thru 13 pick overall is where he will go in most drafts leading up to the NFL draft and that’s about where he should go at this point.  He has a lot of skills that are hard to teach and if he gets into the right situation, he could be a steal with the 11th overall pick.

12.  Joseph Randle, RB, Oklahoma State

Right now,  I am not crazy about Randle going inside the top 15 picks.  He seems to run a bit upright and has trouble lowering that shoulder to get the extra yards needed.  Again, his draft stock will depend upon where he goes in the NFL, but I don’t see a scenario where he would be a top 10 pick.  For that reason, I would not have picked him 12th overall but that is what makes these mocks drafts fun.

Geno Smith13.  Geno Smith, QB, West Virginia

There is a lot of debate in Philly of whether or not this guy should be drafted by the Eagles with the 4th overall pick.  Let the record show that IF, Geno Smith is there for the Eagles at 4th overall, I think the Eagles should take him. With that said, I don’t think Geno Smith is worth a pick inside the top 15 of rookie dynasty drafts because he is obviously not a clear-cut #1 QB in fantasy and might not be for at least 5 years with the type of talent in the league now.  He will probably become a top end #2 QB in a few years and max out as a low-end #1 QB in 6 years.  To sum it up, I think he will be more of a Joe Flacco type QB where he can be good enough to win play-off games and maybe a Super Bowl, but not someone to build a fantasy team around.

14th. Da’Rick Rodgers, WR, Tennessee Tech

I’ve heard some really interesting comparisons about his guy.  I have heard he could be the next Roddy White but has a Titus Young type of attitude. That’s pretty scary if I am an owner, but with the 14th pick, he is worth the risk.  I like his potential and his physical skills are amazing as he had an amazing combine performance.  This isn’t a pick I’d expect to pay of in 2013 or even 2014.  This is a long-term pick and I think Rodgers becomes a solid WR someday.  No worse than a #3 WR.

15th.  Kniles Davis, RB, Arkansas

Now this is a guy who benefited from the combine.  He ran a blistering 4.37 40 Yard Dash and put up 31 reps on the bench press.  At 5’10”, 227 lbs, that is a heck of a 40 yard dash and definitely intrigues me as an owner.  If he gets drafted in the top 90 picks at the NFL draft, he is definitely someone I will be interested in acquiring .  The 15th pick isn’t too much of a reach for him, however I still thought there was someone else more worthy of the 15th pick.

marcus lattimore16.  Marcus Lattimore, RB, South Carolina

By the time I got done responding to the owner with my comments that there was a better player still on the board,  that player I was speaking of got taken.  Lattimore is a high risk/high reward guy.  What do I mean by this?  He is a guy that could someday be a #1 RB on all fantasy teams OR he may never recover from his second ACL Tear.  At 16th I’d consider taking the chance if I am an owner who doesn’t have a need at WR and has the patience of waiting a full year before Lattimore starts producing.  Make no mistake, he is not Adrian Peterson as APETE is a total freak.  This is a good pick here IF you have patience.

17.  Andre Ellington, RB, Clemson

Another RB off the board.  3 in a row and 5 in the round.  I am getting the feeling that owners are not crazy about the lower tier WRs in this draft and that a run on RBs will be similar in all rookie drafts.  Ellington is a quick, but small RB who may never really be a #1 RB for his NFL team.  I view him as a change of pace RB given he is 5’8, 199 lbs.  If he can bulk up a bit I might become a bit more interested, but at this point I am not in love with Ellington.

Christine Michael18.  Christine Michael, RB, Texas A&M

One word to describe this guy.  FREAK.  He is just under 6 feet tall, weighed in at 220 lbs at the combine and was pretty much a top 5 performer in all of the drills.  That’s the good.  Hear comes the bad part.  He is going to be a problem for whoever he plays for.  He blew off several meetings with teams at the combine and was known to be a problem in college for the Aggies.  Mix that in with his injury history (ACL Tear/Broken Leg) and you are looking at a RB who might be a high risk/mild reward guy.  Okay for the 18th pick, but he seems to be a workout warrior to me.

19.  Quinton Patton, WR Virginia Tech

This is a pick I have seen slowly creeping up in some mock drafts and it’s been forcing me to research him a little more.  This is another reason I like these mock drafts.  It comes down to that he is a well-rounded WR who had a below average season due to under performance of his QB.  He might get into the end of the second or fall like Rueben Randle did last season.  Make sure to follow this guy over the next month and see where her lands.  He could surprise some people.

20.  Zach Ertz, TE, Stanford (MY PICK)

Chalk up another PAC-10 player for yours truly.  It wasn’t by design either.  Going into this mock I was expecting to take a IDP at this spot since I didn’t think a player like Ertz was going to fall to me.  I know he has had an average at best off-season, but there have been no IDP players taken yet and I have a few gems up my sleeve that I will wait on for round 3.  Ertz isn’t even close to Eiffert in terms of athletic ability or skill, but not many TEs are.  Eiffert is a future top 5 TE where as Ertz is more of a #2 TE for a year or two and then should develop into a low-end #1 TE for most dynasty teams.  It’s a long-term investment, but if I am drafting last, it basically means I won my league and have the depth to make an investment like this.

Summary

At this point I am starting to wonder if the guys in this mock draft forgot that this was an IDP mock with a point per tackle and 4 points per sack.  I’m okay with that though, but the run on RBs is surprising to me as we aren’t sure where some of these guys are going.  In most cases I’d rather take the #2 TE or #1 QB over the 8th or 9th best RB/WR in the league.  I have a few IDPs I hope fall to me in round three and I have a feeling at least one of them will.

Leave a Reply

