Sixers Balls: One Crazy Summer Night. Recap

dm_130304_nerlensnoeldraft

First off, I would like to apologies to Sam Hinkie for calling him a “Buddhist Monk” on a silent vowel. Going into this draft I was excited and frustrated.  I know that is a helluva combination. Well, those feelings changed quickly once the draft started.  I have to hand it to Hinkie, the dude came out swinging. Trading your best player and so called future of your franchise?  Hinkie acting like a boss.

When the trade went down for Nerlens Noel I was confused as hell. I couldn’t believe that Jrue was part of the deal. My heading was spinning. The Sixers also received a first round pick in 2014 (Top 3 protected). As soon as that traded started to sink in the Sixers were drafting PG Michael Carter-Williams. I needed a drink by then. I didn’t realize there was a lot more to come. While the Sixers were making another trade to acquire South Dakota SG Nate Wolters at No. 38, Hinkie named Brett Brown the Sixers new head coach, according to CSNPhilly.

As I was righting this Hinkie makes another trade. Yes, try to keep up because I can’t. The Sixers traded Wolters to the Bucks for 6″6′ SG Ricky Ledo out of Providence.  Ledo was selected by the Bucks with 43rd pick.  Then Hinkies decides to trade Ledo for PF Arsalan Kazemi (Oregon). Kazemi was picked by the Wizards (for the Sixers) at 54.

I am not even sure if I got all that right. What a wild night. Before I get to the players, let me touch on Brown real quick. Brown has been with the Spurs since July 2002 and moved to the bench as an assistant coach before the start of the 2006-07 season.  Before Brown was with the Spurs he coached 14 seasons (9 as HC) in the Australasia National Basketball League. Brown led the Aussies to a seventh-place finish in the 2012 London Olympic Games.  He has been under “Pop” the past 7 years, so I like this idea. Though now Hinkie denies naming a coach yet. Seriously, I can’t keep up.  I am just leaving what I wrote about Brown in here. Whatever…

Moving on to the players now. Noels is a force defensively, though he is very raw offensively. He might be out until Christmas time with his torn ACL. Carter-Willams has great vision even better than Jrue, though Carter-Williams struggles with his jumper. Arsalan is decent at attacking the rim. The 6’7″ PF is the first Iranian drafted in the NBA.

Lastly, I will miss Jrue. He was the one guy you could enjoy watching this year on a team that was unwatchable. Jrue should have some fun with Anthony Davis. Wishing, Jrue the best of luck.

Some might not like this move. The bottom line is that the Sixers were not going to win with Jrue anytime soon and he had the most value. Sometimes you need to take a step back before you move forward.

To recap, the Sixers acquire Nerlens Noel, Michael Carter-Williams, Arsalan Kazemi, a 2014 1st round pick from New Orleans, and two 2014 2nd round picks from Milwaukee and Dallas. I need sleep.

One response

  1. […] Yes, I believe it’s actually official now. We all remember that report that came out on Draft Night that the Sixers were ready to name Brown the head coach.  Hinkie squashed that rather quickly. […]

Leave a Reply

