Sixers Balls: Farewell for Bynum? Not happening here…

Andrew Bynum

So I am seeing people write farewell articles about Andrew Bynum.   I just have one question. What the hell is wrong with people. If you think I am lying here is a quote from a Spike Eskin article:

 I cannot be angry at Bynum, as many seem to be. Hard as a try, I can’t muster up the vitriol to wish him bad luck in Cleveland. If I feel anything for Andrew Bynum, it’s a little bit of pity.

Andrew Bynum is a knucklehead and a goofball. That much is for sure. Basketball might not be his favorite thing in the world, and he probably doesn’t work as hard as he should. He’s patently unaware, or just doesn’t care, about how he comes off publicly. The thing is none of these things caused Andrew Bynum not to play for the Sixers, his knees did.

I respect Spike (good NBA guy) but the dude is way-off base here. If Bynum wasn’t a goofball, a knuckle head or if he did care about basketball more he might not have done the stupid-ass things he did. He would have done everything and anything to get back on the court. All Bynum was for me was “False Hope”. I really thought I was done writing about Bynum. Whatever….

Well, since I am writing about him I might as well go back to the trade one last time.  The winner of the trade? The Magic (Captain Obvious Strikes Again). Here is the breakdown one last time (painfully)

Sixers got…

Andrew Bynum aka the “Bowler”. The guy loved to take shots at half-time, not basketball, the Jack Daniels ones. Of course he was a flamingo dancing expert and as well an entrepreneur of hair styles.  I played as many minutes as he did for the Sixers.  Damn, I almost forgot about Jason Richardson. J-Rich was solid until he got injured.

Lakers got…

Dwight Howard. Hahaha, Sorry… The funny thing about that situation is that Kobe said that he would teach Dwight to be a champion if he stayed. Kobe, you’re the BIGGEST reason why Dwight left.

Nuggets got…

Andre Iguodala. Iggy had a solid season for the Nuggets but he became a one year rental by opting out of his contract early. The Warriors should be even more fun to watch this coming year.

Magic got…

Nikola Vucevic, Arron Afflalo, Moe Harkless and a few future first-round picks. Vuch is a double-double machine and Harkless still gives Doug Collins nightmares. Afflalo is a solid player when healthy. This trade made Sixers fans cry until Hinkie burst on the scene. The Magic have something nice building down there.

I swear, that is the last time I write about Andrew Bynum.

Leave a Reply

